Home > Questions

Can a MacBook Be Tracked by Former User After Factory Reset?

Hi, a question that I am probably asking a bit too late, but still, I'd rather have it cleared out. Mid-2021, I purchased a used 12-inch MacBook (my first Apple device and I do enjoy using it) that came to me wiped out (factory reset I believe, I do not know the exact term for it). When I turned it on, I had to create my own iCloud account, and only then could I start using it. My question is - is there any risk of the former owner still having visibility to any of my activity on the MacBook given that it was logged out before he sold it to me? Is there any way of checking what tracking activity may be happening, if any? Thanks in advance!

Best Answered by

iBoysoft author Jenny Zeng

Jenny Zeng

Answered on Monday, February 19, 2024

Yes, the former user can still track your Mac's location if you didn't sign into your iCloud account.

If the former user didn't strictly follow Apple's advice to sign out of iCloud and remove the device from Find My Mac, he or she could still locate your Mac from Find My Mac until you log into the Mac with your account. That's because the device is still associated with the former user's iCloud account even if it's not logged in.

So, the previous user can potentially erase your Mac remotely or lock you out. This is actually a feature for users to track and lock down a stolen device. Anyway, it's recommended to log into a second-hand Mac once you acquire it.

Also read:

How to Factory Reset M1 Mac (MacBook Air/Pro, Mac mini, iMac)

 

People Also Ask

Read More Questions

Read More Advice From iBoysoft's Computer Experts

Resumo do Scanner Não Funcionando no Mac

Problemas de scanner no Mac: não funciona/não aparece/não conecta (Soluções)

Guias para aprender como resolver problemas de scanner que não aparece, não funciona, não conecta, sem opções de digitalização no Mac com 8 métodos úteis e por que esses problemas de digitalização ocorrem.

Wie man die Sprache auf dem Mac ändert

So ändern Sie die Sprache auf dem Mac? (Tastatur/System/App)

Erfahren Sie, wie Sie die System-, App- und Tastatursprache auf dem Mac ändern können, einschließlich Tastenkombinationen zum Sprachwechsel und den Schritten zum Wechseln der Sprache im macOS-Wiederherstellungsmodus.

Comment résoudre l'erreur Le volume de sauvegarde est en lecture seule

Erreur de la machine à remonter le temps : Le volume de sauvegarde est en lecture seule

Si vous avez rencontré l'erreur Le volume de sauvegarde est en lecture seule et que vous vous sentez paniqué et agacé, ce billet est le meilleur tutoriel pour vous. Il vous propose quatre solutions pour vous aider à le résoudre.