Home > Questions

How to factory reset Intel MacBook Pro without wiping iCloud data?

So I recently upgraded from an older intel MacBook Pro to an M1 Mac. I want to wipe the intel Pro so I can gift it to my sister so she can use it for school. However, I don’t want my data to be deleted from iCloud, so that I can access it from my new Mac. Is there a way to wipe a MacBook without deleting its files from iCloud? If you have any ideas on this problem, please let me know!

Best Answered by

iBoysoft author Rivers Wong

Rivers Wong

Answered on Monday, April 29, 2024

For your information, factory resetting an Intel-based MacBook Pro won't wipe any data stored on your iCloud drive if you set it in the right way, it merely deletes the settings and files stored on your computer's hard drives. You can factory set your Mac without wiping iCloud data in two steps: allow keep a copy of the iCloud files and wipe your Mac hard drive.

Follow these steps to wipe your MacBook Pro without deleting any data stored on iCloud.

Step 1: Keep a copy of the iCloud files when signing out of your iCloud

If your Intel-based MacBook Pro runs macOS Catalina or later versions, you should select the Apple menu > System Preferences > Apple ID, choose Overview at the left sidebar, then click Sign Out.

If your Intel-based MacBook Pro runs macOS Mojave or earlier, you should select the Apple menu > System Preferences, then directly click on iCloud > Sign Out.

When asked whether to keep a copy of the iCloud files on your Mac, allow it. By enabling this request, you can access all your iCloud data on your new M1 Mac.

Step 2: Wipe your MacBook Pro hard drive

  1. Completely shut down your Intel-based MacBook Pro.
  2. Restart it and hold down the Command + R keys simultaneously until you see the Apple logo or a spinning globe, it'll make your Mac enter into macOS Recovery Mode.
  3. Click Disk Utility > Continue.
  4. Right-click on Macintosh HD - Data (or macOS - Data) at the left column of the Disk Utility window, then click on Delete APFS Volume.
  5. Select Macintosh HD (or macOS) and click the Erase button.
  6. Name the new volume, select APFS as the format, and GUID Partition Map as the Scheme, then click Erase again.
  7. Choose the Delete Volume button.

Read more: How to Factory Reset M1 Mac (MacBook Air/Pro, Mac mini, iMac)

People Also Ask

Read More Questions

Read More Advice From iBoysoft's Computer Experts

Fix Time Machine error 19 16 or 112

Time Machine Error 19/16/112 on Mac[Synology/External Drive]

Time Machine failed with 'The backup disk image could not be accessed (error 16/19/112)' when backing up to Synology drives or external devices on Mac? Here’s how to fix it!

How to Tips

take a screenshot on Mac

How to Take a Screenshot on Mac with/without Keyboard - 2024

This post tells you how to take a screenshot on Mac with shortcuts or without a keyboard. Take a screenshot and copy it on MacBook Pro/Air, Mac Pro, Mac mini, etc.

How to Tips

how to disable autofill on Mac

[Effective] How To Disable The Autofill Feature On Mac?

If you desire to close the autofill feature on a Mac, you have come to the right place. This post guides you on how to turn off Autofill function on your Mac computer with step-wise guidelines.

News Tips