iBoysoft DiskGeeker Online Help
- Clean Drive
Overview of Clean Drive
Clean Drive is a self-designed disk cleaning feature in iBoysoft DiskGeeker. It is used to delete unwanted or useless files or folders from a partition to free up storage space, just like disk cleaner software.
This feature consists of two processes: files scanning and deletion.
In the scanning phrases, this Clean Drive feature will search for all the files and folders on the selected partition and list all the scanned results in a directory structure when the scanning process is stopped. Significantly, you can stop a scan at any time.
For file deletion, you are required to have full read and write access to the file being deleted. Otherwise, Clean Drive won't help you with the deletion. Once you've deleted the selected folders, everything stored in them, including subfolders and subfiles will be deleted permanently and are not recoverable.
How to use Clean Drive to delete files from a partition?
You can use the Clean Drive function in iBoysoft DiskGeeker to clear up unwanted or useless files and folders from your Mac hard drive or external drives.
Step 1: Launch iBoysoft DiskGeeker on your Mac.
Step 2: Select a partition from the left sidebar of the iBoysoft DiskGeeker window.
Step 3: Click "Clean Drive" from the right toolbar.
Step 4: Wait until the scanning process is done or ended by yourself.
Step 5: Select the folders and click "Open" to browse the files in them.
Step 6: Check in the folders you want to remove and click "Delete All" to free up the disk space.
FAQ about Clean Drive in iBoysoft DiskGeeker
1. Can I stop the scanning process when Clean Drive starts to scan a partition?
Yes, you can. You can stop the scan at any time. And the files on the partition that have been scanned will also be listed and available for deletion.
2. Why can't I open the files listed in the scanning results?
Because you have no read permission to these files.
3. Why Clean Drive fails to delete the selected files?
If it alerts you "No folder or file is selected", you haven't checked in the box beside the file before clicking "Delete All". If it hints "Insufficient permissions, cleanup failed", it indicates that you don't have the full read-write permission to the selected files. Therefore, Clean Drive can't delete them.
4. When the delete process starts, can I cancel the deletion?
Yes, you can. The cancel option is available for you to stop the delete process.
5. Can I recover the deleted files or folders?
No. The files you use Clean Drive to delete are permanently removed from your hard drive and can't be recovered.