Home > Questions

Can't Re-allocate Free Space Bootcamp Partition Disk Utility

I accidentally deleted the Bootcamp partition for Windows 10 and got 45.7GB of free space. However, I can't allocate the free space to my macOS partition. I've tried running First Aid as Disk Utility suggested to do so when removing this free space partition failed, but finally, no luck. I've also referred to some ways in another Apple Community, however, Disk Utility says "Unable to read the Windows partition", and no remove option is available. (By the way, SIP and FileVault are turned off)

Best Answered by

iBoysoft author Connie Yang

Connie Yang

Answered on Wednesday, April 24, 2024

How did you delete your Boot Camp partition? The right way to delete a Windows partition requires using the Boot Camp Assistant utility on your Mac.

If you indeed delete the partition on your Mac with that utility, are you sure you've deleted it successfully? I think you can try to use Boot Camp Assistant to delete your Windows partition once a time, then check if you can allocate the free space partition for macOS. If the issue still occurs, try to delete the free space partition in macOS Recovery Mode.

Also, you can follow this post: How to delete partitions on Mac to free up space?

People Also Ask

Read More Questions

Read More Advice From iBoysoft's Computer Experts

macOS Home-Ordner auf externes Laufwerk verschieben

Wie man den Home-Ordner auf einem Mac auf ein externes Laufwerk verschiebt?

Manchmal möchte man einfach seinen Home-Ordner auf einem Mac auf ein separates oder externes Laufwerk verschieben. Aber man ist verwirrt darüber, wie man es macht, keine Sorge, dieser Artikel wird Ihnen Wege zeigen.

résumé du stockage en réseau

Qu'est-ce que le Stockage en réseau attaché (NAS) ?

Cet article présentera brièvement ce qu'est le Stockage en réseau attaché (ou NAS) et comment choisir le meilleur NAS pour vous.

activar cierre de sesión automáticamente después de actividad

Cómo configurar tu Mac para cerrar la sesión después de inactividad?

Esta publicación te dice cómo configurar tu Mac para cerrar la sesión después de un período de inactividad para proteger tus datos. También, hay consejos adicionales que puedes aplicar para mantener segura tu información cuando el Mac está inactivo.